The KonMari method of cleaning up

It’s one thing to wade through a how-to book and learn another’s method, it’s another thing entirely (and infinetly more efficient) to let someone ELSE read the book and then demonstrate it to you in a 15 minute vid on YouTube.  The Japanese organization expert Marie Kondo has an excellent approach.  Here it’s demonstrated by a college (I think he’s in college) student who breaks it down effectively in fifteen minutes.  I found it very useful, especially the clothes part.

My organization methods were first sparked by The Fly Lady, who said, “If you’re overwhelmed, start with the kitchen sink.  Just never go to bed with dirty dishes.  Clean the sink, wipe it dry, and go to bed.”  And with that one thing, I went from boderline Hoarders star to an organized housekeeper.

So if you’re feeling overwhelmed with your housekeeping, start with this video.  He’s friendly and honest and makes it easy to follow.

Also, if you are like me and battle ADHD with both hands (oh, my gerd.  You just don’t know unless you know) try Any.do.  It’s free and the single most effective thing I use to stay on track. It seamlessly gives me a timed list from my iPad, my Android, or my Chrome.  I swear, I don’t know how I lived with out it.  Oh, wait, I was disorganized and frustrated.  Then I felt a lot more in control with it.

Leave a Reply

