When I said I baked up a storm…

…my son said, “Then why isn’t it raining inside?”

I said, “It is.  It’s raining food.  Now shaddap.”  Smart Alec.

Today, The Man had Friends over.  This included his brother and his friend Curtis.  I was delighted.  We don’t have many visitors as we’ve spent the last year basically getting used to being married, so I threw myself into it.  I made hot Italian sandwiches, a Mississippi Roast (mixed reviews:  roast was good, potatoes were meh), the classic Chris’ Sour Cream Chocolate Bundt Cake and Southern Bite’s Lemon Icebox Pie. We had the pie after dinner.  And as I have been a really good girl of late, I don’t feel guilty.  Here is PIE!  PIE PIE PIE

11695905_10206574639258606_8971395496235972428_n

Chris said I should open up a pie shop and call it Pie In the Sky, and only serve pie and coffee.  Amazingly, he had never seen Pushing Daisies.

Here is cake, with recipe to follow:

11041190_10206574638938598_6595065292144359169_n

Chris’ Sour Cream Chocolate Bundt Cake

(bear in mind, this is modified from Cake Mix Doctor, Chocolate Cakes)

Chocolate Cake Mix

4 eggs (I use silkie eggs–we have silkie chickens which produce small eggs)

1 cup sour cream

1/3 cup of oil

3/4 cup water

1/2 cup of vanilla creamer

can of chocolate fudge frosting

Mix up the OBVIOUS.  Bake in bundt cake (remember, these can be a BITCH to get out, so use baker’s spray, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND Winn-Dixie brand if you can get your hands on it).

Bake at 45 minutes in a 350 oven, cause blowing on it with a hair dryer ain’t gonna get it.

Let it sit about five minutes or so.  Then plop out onto a plate.

Once plopped, take that bad boy frosting jar and strip off ALL of the foil.  ALL of it.  Put this in a microwave for 1 minute. (I use the 1 minute button).

Stir this stuff if ya need to, but I usually don’t.

Wipe off finger with frosting on the end of it in mouth.  Wash if necessary.

Then over the apex of the cake, drool this stuff, careful that most of it goes towards the inside.

With a pastry brush, you can take the hot frosting and coat the entire cake.  This is wise if you think the cake is going to be out for a week, because it will keep it moist.  Otherwise, be a bit artistic.

When you cut the cake, get a bit of the chocolate goo in the middle and smear it on the slice.  People like that.

Feed it to people.  With milk. In a glass.  You’re done.

Leave a Reply

