The Best Thing I Found on the Whole Internet This Week was…

http://www.brooklinebooksmith.com/findarchive.htm

I’ve often wondered what I’ve left behind in a book.  Here is easily one of the most delightful blogs I’ve ever come across where they’ve cataloged what they’ve found.  The writing is worth the trip.  It’s awesome.  And the archive goes back all the way to 2006, so there’s plenty to see.  I read a little every day. Awesome.  The matchbook covers are a personal favorite.  Whoever’s writing this needs to be pushing out a book of their own.

040815
First step is admitting you have a P-R-O-B-L-E-M.
041515
Dude, your grandmother means well.

062314“Child, let me explain. These are advertisements ripped from the back of matchbooks. A matchbook? It was just a fold of cardboard with matches inside. Matches were a little stick that had a flammable substance caked on one end. You scraped it, and it would ignite, and then you could light your cigarette. A cigarette? Well, a cigarette was a tube of paper with dried tobacco inside, which you could smoke. Tobacco? It was a plant. People grew a whole ton of it and smoked it because phones didn’t have nicotine vaporizers back then.”

112614
Pictures of babies. (Like ZeFrank would say it, hon. Bay-bae.)

091714

 "I know, it's sweet, it's your son's face smiling at you every time you open up a book, but to me it just looks like he's floating in beer."

“I know, it’s sweet, it’s your son’s face smiling at you every time you open up a book, but to me it just looks like he’s floating in beer.”

Leave a Reply

